August Bank Holiday 2017

Five stages, four jerseys, one bank holiday weekend, one hundred riders and a hundred and ninety miles of the best racing roads in the UK. The SD Sealants Junior Tour of Wales is the grand finale to the British Cycling Junior Road Series, and an event riders all over the world are eager to add to their palmares.

The 2016 edition of the race saw three days of tough, ultra competitive racing, through beautiful Welsh countryside, and under sunshine, wind, and a little rain. VC Londres’ Fred Wright became the first, first year junior since Alex Dowsett in 2005 to win Yellow – and with it the chance to defend his title this year. Charlie Quarterman of the Zappi’s Junior Team capped a strong, attacking race with the King of the Mountains jersey. Matt Walls of Velocity GlobalBike sprinted into Green with Jake Swinnerton of Swinnerton Cycles taking the Blue Jersey of Best Young Rider.

Thank you to everyone who rode, helped, sponsored, made possible, watched, and hopefully enjoyed the 2016 edition. We are currently finalising the format of the 2017 race – with some exciting changes soon to be revealed. Entries will go online at the British Cycling website shortly.


The SD Sealants Junior Tour of Wales will return

August 2017



Photographs courtesy of and © Huw Fairclough, and Guy Swarbrick, Andy Whitehouse for British Cycling